As you all know we have had quite a few bumps in the road this past year. Unfortunately, we will NOT be able to sell A Clean Cigarette products after September 9, 2020 due to government regulations from the FDA.
We are currently transitioning to new products that we will not be offering online. Please continue to visit us at one of our 8 Michigan store locations to see the new products that we have available! We are also open longer hours at most of our stores to serve you better.
We want to take this time to THANK YOU personally, it’s been our pleasure to serve you over the years, we consider you not only as friends, but FAMILY. Please accept our deepest apologies for this.
Well it’s Dawn here today, and if you are a smoker, a former smoker, or even know a smoker, chances are you have heard about the talked about law change. It will mean that at least here in Michigan there will be no more smoking in any vehicle containing any person under 18 years of age.
Many of our customers have questions regarding the new law and how it effects them. What does the law say? How will it impact e-cigarettes? What happens if you break this law and smoke anyway? Well today we are going to delve in a bit to help people fully understand the changes.
First let’s talk about who sponsored the bill and why. The Who is Rep Sam Singh. According to many internet sources the why part is pretty simple. Tobacco smoke kills. Children do not have the right to not be in a car with their parents, so according to Rep. Singh parents should not have the right to smoke in the car. Here is the best clip from the internet that relates his message to us.
The thing is, it is bad for our children to have second hand smoke around them. It’s not an opinion, it is a fact. Keeping tar and second hand smoke away from our young is the best thing to do. Does it need regulated like this? I for one am not about big government and it’s regulations, so I do not like most laws. That being said, I don’t think smoking in a car with children strapped in is wise and I don’t think most adults need a law to tell them not do it.
Here is some of the information available on the impact that second hand smoke has on children.
What happens if you do it any way? Well for the 1st year you will get a warning. After that though you will be hit with a civil infraction ticket with a fine of up to $500 dollars. WOW. That is only best case scenario though because, it can also lead to a CPS investigation for child endangerment.
What about electronic cigarettes? Do electronic cigarettes fall under this same law? Can we smoke them in the car with children under 18? The answer as of now is, Yes you can. They are not included in this law. That means if you want nicotine while your driving the family around, your best option may be an electronic cigarette. E-Cigarette studies have shown that the second hand byproduct is so low on output it can be hard to measure. Unlike cigarettes that will set a geiger meter off as soon as it is lit up.
So there you have it, the 411 on Michigan’s upcoming law. If you would like more information or have questions drop me a line to AccAnswers@gmail.com. If you are ready to switch off burning tobacco and update your nicotine delivery system with the best electronic cigarette available, drop by our web page at acleancigarette.com. Thank you so much for taking the time to stop in today. I appretiate you very much. I also hope this blog was informative and maybe even a bit entertaining. I hope you come back again real soon! Thank you so much!